OrderCentral anatomy and common installation setup. (.NET2 version)

There are 3 main web components for OrderCentral.

Each needs to be in their own directory and ideally should be their own “application” in IIS.  They should all allow “script” execution and be configured to run under .net 2

1.       OrderCentral

a.       The actual user website.

b.      Example: C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\orderCentral


2.       ctOC web service

a.       The web service handles all database and SL interaction.

b.      Example: C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\orderCentral\ctOC

3.       ctAdmin

a.       The admin website

b.      Example: C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\orderCentral\ctAdmin


Other components include.

1.       ctConfigEditor

a.       An .exe used to edit Catalina Software XML config files.

b.      OrderCentral .net2 no longer uses the registry to store configuration data, it is stored in xml files.  Ie: Database connection strings

c.       To properly edit these files  you need to use the editor installed at:


2.       Config and Crrorlogging directories

1.       C:\Inetpub\xctFiles\config\

a.       Contains configuration files for ctAdmin, ordercentral and ctOC

2.       C:\Inetpub\xctFiles\errorLogs\

a.       Contains errorLogging files for ctAdmin, ordercentral and ctOC

b.      Needs to be writeable by “everyone”

c.       Only used if debug Mode is turned on.

                                            i.      DebugMode is enabled in OC, ctOC and orderCentral by editing the following web.config keys:

1.           <add key="DEBUGMODE" value="TRUE" />

2.           <add key="ERRORLOGFILE" value="C:\\Inetpub\\xctFiles\\errorLogs\\ctOCerrorLogFile.txt" />

                                            ii.      Debugging is configured independently in all 3 applications web.config files and all 3 should write to separate log files.

                                            iii.      Should be turned off when not debugging for performance reasons